Lure size question?

katt72

Lure size question?

Post by katt72 »

In the last few weeks i've been surfing the forum (fishing reports, TKF facebook..etc). My question for you guys, who has been fishing the upper coast area(Houston/Galveston) most of the current year. Have you had better catch ratio using sm(2-3") med(3-4") or lg(4+") in size atries. I'm still a noob to the artie game? :?: :evil:
SWFinatic

Re: Lure size question?

Post by SWFinatic »

I don't fish that area but it won't be any different than middle or lower Texas coast. Your answer is whatever size bait the fish are feeding on. Lately for reds I've been using something smaller that more resembles shad since that is what they are feeding on. If you're ever in doubt in most months you're safe going with a shrimp profile (more for reds) in the 3"-4" range. In general I would say the closer you can match what the fish are feeding on the better you'll be. Sometimes this is not determined until you get on the water.
mwatson71

Post by mwatson71 »

I only fish artificials so hopefully some of this info may be useful. It is not an easy answer but here is a summary of my last month:
May 6 - 22" speck and 25" redfish on 3" Vudu shad (greenback)
May 16 - 17" speck on 2 1/2" glass minnow tandem (1/8 oz jig heads, both glow white)
May 26 - 16" and 18" specks on 3" Vudu shad (white - wouldn't touch the greenback)
June 2 - 24" redfish on 2 1/2" glass minnow tandem (wouldn't touch the Vudu shad)
June 4 - 4 specks to 22" on 2 1/2" Vudu shad (white) and glass minnow tandem (1/8 jig heads, glow yellow/glow white)
June 5 - 24" redfish (partially digested 7" shad in is belly) and 16" and 19" specks on 3" Vudu shad

Good luck to you.
Kayak Kid
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club

Post by Kayak Kid »

Best advice is in answer given by Sfinatic. However, many times that's easier said than done.