rod blanks

landlocked

rod blanks

Post by landlocked »

I have been considering buying a new fly rod and have thought about building it from a blank. The fly shops in my area haven't been to helpful as they want the extra cash for the assembled rod. I know M-D and a few others build or have built rods and was wondering if anyone knew of a good source for cheap blanks. I am considering doing a cheap blank before droping big bucks on the real deal. Any pointers from any of you pros? Is building a cheap rod for the exerience the way to go or should I start out with the real deal?
ellisredfish

rod blank

Post by ellisredfish »

I posted an earlier reply to your question and it did not come up, probably forgot to log in. Give Richard a call at Richard's Rod and Reel and ask him to give you a quote on a Forcast fly blank. His phone is 1-807-486-0514. I have been buying blanks from him for a couple of years. He has very good service. I just ordered three spinning blanks from him for a total $70 including shipping from Canada. His email address is: info@rodreel.com.
fredtoo
TKF 2000 club
TKF 2000 club

drawing a blank

Post by fredtoo »

Landlocked,

keep in mind that a lot of your time is going into this project, and when you are done, the rod will still only be as good as the blank. Custom building a rod can only improve perfomance a minor amount over factory built. Performance is all in the blank.

why not get the best blank you can, and build something you will be happy with for many years?

just my thoughts,
fredtoo
kirbyt

More web help...rod building

Post by kirbyt »

http://www.mrfc.com/Mrfc1Clearance.asp

OR
http://www.rodbuilding.org/list.php?f=2

I do have to agree with others that building your own rod versus buying completed now in this market is not my first choice with warranty issues.