Does anyone know how to use a hair stacker?

SemperFly

Does anyone know how to use a hair stacker?

Post by SemperFly »

I have been tying for 3 yrs now and am still perplexed by the stacking of hair. Everytime I do it I end up cussing a lot and hitting something in my Garage with a hammer. I have seen some great patterns that require this method. Can anyone help me with the basics. I would really appreciate it.

THanks,

Darren

Hair Stacker

Post by Guest »

Many fly patterns require hair that is perfectly even at the tips. Most hair grows on animals in random lengths.

A stacker enables you to bring all of the hair tips to the same plane quickly. Just insert the hair bundle tip first into the barrel of the stacker and bang the base of the stacker on the table. The hair fibers will slide until they stop at the bottom of the stacker. Turn the stacker horizontal and remove the base. The exposed hair tips will be even.

Remove the evened hair bundle from the stacker and tie it on the fly.
To make this process easier; comb or stroke out, all short hair and under-fur from the hair bundle before it is inserted into the stacker. Straight hair stacks easier than kinky hair. If the hair is greasy or full of static cling, saturate the hair-piece with talcum powder and fluff out.

Brass barreled stackers are less prone to static cling than aluminum barreled stackers.

Select the stacker size that best fits the length and volume of hair being used. (small stackers for short hair etc.)

FDF
Puck

Stackers

Post by Puck »

I have 4 different size stackers. Each has it's uses. Basically, the tips go down, beat it against something solid, making sure everybody in the house knows that you are tying flies, then carefully pull the neatly stack hair out the bottom before the dog can beat you to it. For some reason she thinks a hair stacker at work is a dinner bell.
Nate

clean the hair out good first

Post by Nate »