Areas around Austin, TX?

niswanger

Areas around Austin, TX?

Post by niswanger »

Hello all,

Mid-40’s guy here that decided to ditch other time-wasters in his life to get back on the water. Picked up two Hobie kayaks (2008 13’ Revolution and 2011 PA 14). I’m about done rigging them and looking for some good water. I have lots of bass fishing experience in my younger years and gulf flats fishing when we lived in Florida. For now, I am looking for the following things:

1. Good water around Austin with good launch ramps (I live in Round Rock). Looking for deep water to get acclimated to using these mirage drive kayaks. I made my trailer such that I can use a launch ramp for my PA14, you can see how here: https://youtu.be/3pg1h-6Z4UQ?t=2m41s
2. Good spots with #1 in mind to catch largemouth bass.

Thank you,
Roy
Ron Mc
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Re: Areas around Austin, TX?

Post by Ron Mc »

Lake Georgetown - Corps of Engineers parks at each end - depending on lake level, getting down from Tejas Camp may be difficult, but it's great fishing.
niswanger

Post by niswanger »

Ron Mc wrote:Lake Georgetown - Corps of Engineers parks at each end - depending on lake level, getting down from Tejas Camp may be difficult, but it's great fishing.
Yes, I've thought about Lake Georgetown, but having a look at Tejas I feel it's not an area/option for me. One of my requirements stated good launch ramp and deep water. See, I don't want to take out these pedal Mirage Drive kayaks and break them on my first trip. So to this end, which of the 3 parks for launching do you recommend? Jim Hogg, Russel or Cedar Breaks?

Also, how's the bass fishing on Lake Georgetown?

Thanks,
Roy
rbdavis3591

Post by rbdavis3591 »

Walter E Long Lake (aka Decker Lake) with its two boat ramps. Also if both boat ramps are occupied you can also launch your kayaks from the shore.
niswanger

Post by niswanger »