Gear advice. New to kayaking

juancts

Gear advice. New to kayaking

Post by juancts »

Hi ! I discovered kayaking (saltwater) a couple of weeks ago and immediately fell in love with it. So. Im new to kayaking.

I just ordered my 1st kayak Vibe Sea Ghost 130.

I'm now looking for a good paddle and fishing rods for my kayak.

I'd appreciate your comments and recommendations on paddles and rods.

Thanks !!

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Neumie
Site Admin

Re: Gear advice. New to kayaking

Post by Neumie »

juancts wrote:Hi ! I discovered kayaking (saltwater) a couple of weeks ago and immediately fell in love with it. So. Im new to kayaking.

I just ordered my 1st kayak Vibe Sea Ghost 130.

I'm now looking for a good paddle and fishing rods for my kayak.

I'd appreciate your comments and recommendations on paddles and rods.

Thanks !!

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Welcome, I apologize for not seeing this post earlier.

I thought Vibe kayaks came with their own paddle? If that's not the case anymore expect to spend 150-200 for a decent paddle. Bending Branches, Accent, Cannon, Aqua-Bound and Werner all make great paddles. Find the lightest one in your budget from one of those brands and go with it. I prefer paddles designed for high angle paddling; those will have a broader blade. Given the higher seating position of the Vibe you're probably going to need at least a 240 cm paddle.