Sunshine lake - Weatherford, TX

ESC1986

Sunshine lake - Weatherford, TX

Post by ESC1986 »

Eric here from Weatherford Texas. I am not new to kayak fishing but I am new to the North Texas area. I grew up in the hill country fishing Medina, Braunig, Canyon, Calaveras, And all up and down the coast. However, I have recently moved to Weatherford and live less then 2 miles away from sunshine lake. Has anyone ever yak fished that lake before? if so, is it worth loading up and trying it out or just heading straight for Lake Weatherford or Mineral Wells? Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
Salty Bum

Re: Sunshine lake - Weatherford, TX

Post by Salty Bum »

wish i could help you on this but I have never fished it.
ESC1986

Post by ESC1986 »

No worries at all! Just thought I would ask some fellow fishermen in the NTX area before heading out to get skunked.
ESC1986

Post by ESC1986 »

Update on the Lake - Simply not worth the time of even launching. There are simply to many variables to this lake. Its very shallow, over fished, and from recent rains everything has retreated to the creek which is blocked by fallen trees about 75 yards upstream. I caught two flat head and fowl hooked one carp. I will be fishing lake Weatherford or mineral wells from now on.
Caccrawfor

Post by Caccrawfor »

I live in granbury and things are starting to get better here now that the lake I full again. I'm going out in the morning will post an update tommarow afternoon.
ESC1986

Post by ESC1986 »

I have heard that it's picking up very well at Granbury. I have some free time this coming week that I'm going to put towards getting on the water. I may have to try out Granbury if it's worth the trip. I Look forward to hearing your report.
Caccrawfor

Post by Caccrawfor »