Pearland Urban Fishing in Retention Ponds

Drewski

Pearland Urban Fishing in Retention Ponds

Post by Drewski »

Who says you have to drive to the coast to get a little action? :D

We moved to Pearland earlier this year, and there are retention ponds for neighborhoods all over the place. Our house backs up to one that's about 20 acres. I'm a salt water fishing guy but I figured I HAD to start fresh water fishing when it's so close by. I've done virtually zero fresh water fishing, so I started learning about spinner baits, buzz baits, Senkos, etc. Maybe because it's new to me, fresh water fishing seems a lot more complicated, with way more lure choices.

At first glance, it looked like there were no fish in the pond behind our house. I couldn't catch anything the first few times I went out during the middle of the day. But I kept reading freshwater forums online and kept on fishing.

I moved my fishing to late afternoons / evenings, and I finally found some structure in what appears to be a featureless pond. By finding structure, I also found the baitfish. I started catching channel catfish on stink bait and Gulp worms; catfish put up a pretty good fight! I even caught a 2-3 footer on a Johnson silver spoon on light tackle. That one took a while to get to shore.

Then I caught a crappie on the silver spoon. Aha! There's more than just catfish in there. I kept up with the spoon because I had good luck with it and caught more crappie and a few bluegill. I even caught a gasper goo (freshwater drum). It took me a while to figure out what the heck that was. It made croaking sounds when I caught it.