Different idea for fish finder install

BlueGills

Different idea for fish finder install

Post by BlueGills »

I’m new to fish finders and finally pulled the trigger on a Stiker 4 CV. After pouring over hundreds of you tube videos and forums I’ve come up with what I think will fit my preferences best, but I haven’t seen anyone do it quite the way I’m thinking, so I wanted to get some opinions on any disadvantages I haven’t thought of. My kayak is an Old Town Sportsman 106 (basic model powered by paddling)

Ok, here’s what I’m thinking: Start off with a Navarre scupper mount for the transducer. Right behind the transducer scupper is the stand assist strap. I will remove the bolt that holds the strap in place, and use that threaded insert to anchor a homemade wooden box with a bolt through the bottom of the box. The box will be made of 1 inch thick oak (left over ends that i cut off of stair treads) and the two sides will extend lower than the base of the box to create little skids, to avoid having the box sitting in water on the deck. I will cover the skids with pool noodle or pipe wrap so that when I snug it down I don’t have any oak contacting the deck. The box will contain my battery and excess cord, and the top will have the fish finder mounted to it.

Here are the reasons I want this type of mount: I do not want to drill holes into my kayak. I don’t want my transducer mounted on an arm. I don’t want to have the rails cluttered with stuff. I want the battery to be reasonably protected from the elements. It will be nice to be able to remove everything from the kayak pretty easily.

Disadvantages I have thought of: The display will be out of reach and somewhat far from view. The box will be made of wood (I feel that using solid oak along with polyurethane, silicone and weather stripping will make that a non issue).