Date: Feb 9, 2019
Boat: Ocean Kayak Trident 15
Put In: Polk Co Road 95
Take Out: Rivers Edge Cabins
Distance: 32.0 miles
Attending: Solo
Smithville gage: Approx 750 cfs
https://waterdata.usgs.gov/nwis/uv?07338750

I have been paddling the upper Mt Fork now for 11 years. This part of the river sees very few paddlers especially in the winter. I have never seen another paddler on the upper sections of this river. The Mountain Fork River starts in Oklahoma at the base of the Ouachita Mountains about 3 miles west of the Oklahoma Arkansas border and flows east into Arkansas then back into Oklahoma eventually into Broken Bow Lake. The Kiamichi River also starts within a mile of the same location but higher up on the mountainside and flows to the west. Usually the water flow only allows me to put no higher than Polk County road 48 in Arkansas. However, this year some rain days prior gave me a unique and long desired opportunity to put in much higher to within 3 miles of the start of the river. I put in at Polk Co Rd 95 which is the border of Oklahoma and Arkansas, about 200 yards south of Hwy 8. Here the river is only about 15 feet wide and very rocky. The water level was not as high as I wanted but I made a go of it with a temp of 24 and clear skies. My wife dropped me off and I told her it might be dark before I arrive back at the cabins we were staying in called Rivers Edge about 30 miles downstream.