100%
WS Commander 140
No votes

Total votes: 1

topnotch286

Taking the plunge... need input

Post by topnotch286 »

Hello all....

Im new to the site and this is my first real post. Ive been fishing the coast for 20+ yrs (boat and wade), mostly East Matty. Looking for a new challenge... I have been researching kayaks for a while now and have been lurking around TKF reading reading and reading. I know the best way is to drive them first, but unfortunately with my work situation it is nearly impossible to work that out, so im willing to take the chance. I bought my wife a Diablo Chupacabra a couple of years ago but I dont really like the SUP style of it so I have never rigged it out. I have fished BTB from a Tarpon 16 and found in too tippy for me @ 6ft 230lbs.

It will be used mainly in the bays/flats. I need something that will be relatively stable, comfortable for fairly long rides (5-10miles), handle the ICW / open bays and not completely wear my ass out before I get where im goin. Im not a fair weather fisherman. I can and will get out in the wind/cold/rain/chop. I also would like for it to handle shallow mud flats without me having to drag it. I need it to haul a small cooler and all my gear. With that said, I think I've narrowed it down to two boats. The Malibu X Factor and the WS Commander 140. I dont think im way off base, but if I am please someone square me away.

ALL input is appreciated and I plan to buy something this weekend. Im ready to fish... looking forward to getting to know some of you on here and the water!
Poolio

Re: Taking the plunge... need input

Post by Poolio »

WS has a better rep for longevity and service. That's enough for me to steer away from Malibu, though they do have some trick yaks.

-Poo
Spot_n_tails1

Post by Spot_n_tails1 »